Asia secures foothold in the Arctic Council

China, India, and Japan are among the six new countries granted observer status in the Arctic Council at yesterday's meeting in Kiruna, Northern Sweden. A natural development, says the shipowners' association, but it's still important to make sure that the Arctic coast states remain in control.

Read this article for free

Register with your E-mail.
No credit card required.

Get full access for you and your coworkers.

Start a free company trial today

More from ShippingWatch

World bank calls LNG a dead end as fuel for shipping

LNG is a risk-fraught waste of time as a fuel for shipping, and it will only delay the transition to sustainable fuels, warned the the UK's High-Level Climate Action Champion at the presentation of an LNG report from the World Bank.

Further reading

Related articles

Latest news

See all jobs